Adventures of the Greek Heroes by Mollie McLean and Anne Wiseman, Illustrated by Witold T. Mars (Book Review)

If you’re looking for a Greek Myth 101 type of book where you just want to know a bit about their “heroes” then Adventures of the Greek Heroes is the kind of book meant for you.

I usually wanted to know more about Greek myths without that burden of reading factual texts or pages that tackles their history or origins. I simply wanted their stories. When I bought this book I wasn’t expecting anything. It simply called me from the shelf of Books For Less. No regrets. I enjoyed reading the short stories and I love the artwork on each page.

It’s not overwhelming. It’s easy to digest. In fact, you might end up asking for more after reading this book. For someone like me who is only familiar with Hercules because of the Disney movie, I did not expect to see Hercules as a hero who is wise, strong and a man who can really go out on an adventure. And I did not expect him to mingle with the other heroes as well.

It’s fun to know more about Perseus, Theseus, Orpheus, Meleager and the Argonauts. I also love how I remembered Prometheus (I first read about him on Circe). Prometheus is the one who gave back fire to people. It’s a must read backstory if you want to know what happened then and how he was punished by Zeus.

I am rating this with 4 stars. Expect a fast-pace or stories told in a summarize way when you read this book and a lot of love at first sight moments.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Quoted from the Book:

“I am not pleased with the kingdom of Man,” roared Zeus. “Men forget their gods, and use their time looking for riches.”

*this quote resonates with me just because of what I am writing recently.


Title: Adventures of the Greek Heroes
Author: Mollie McLean and Anne Wiseman, Illustrated by Witold T. Mars
Genres: Fantasy / Mythology
Pages: 176 (Index Included)
Book Source: Books For Less
Book Number: 43 for 2020
Done Reading: September 14, 2020

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.