The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid (Book Review)

How did I end up reading The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo? I often see it online and I was intrigued when I read about the synopsis. Then, for some reason Marilyn Monroe is on my Instagram and I am liking some of her photos along with Audrey Hepburn. I was simply drawn with their beauty and grace. I also watch on YouTube a short documentary about Marilyn Monroe. It shows how she started her acting career and how her life has ended.

I decided to create a Sexy Readathon for September. I intend to read the books that I have that I considered “sexy” (it could be sexy writing, sexy characters, sexy romance genre). I also just want to go back into reading a lot of romance novels and have a boost of serotonin. Plus, I wanted to keep on doing my TBR Pile Reading Challenge.

So, I consider this book to be part of my TBR list for September. If only I knew what I was really getting into. The writing style of Taylor Jenkins Reid is so easy to read that you won’t realize you’re already on page 50 of the book. It’s short, precise, but offers clear visuals. It’s as if I’m playing a movie through a book. I couldn’t help but imagine Evelyn Hugo as, first, the older image of Audrey, then, Marilyn during her flashbacks or storytelling.

It was a biography kind of book. But purely fiction. It was told based on the point of view of the actress and sometimes by her chosen writer. But the hook is, why did Evelyn chose Monique as her writer? That’s the mystery that keeps me hanging. And a question that I could barely forget. But the selling point of this book, for me, is simply about an icon. It’s about a popular actress during an era where I’m not even born yet and she manage to marry seven men. I couldn’t simply imagine the controversy. I need to know the behind the scenes story. My head is simply flooded with the questions that started with the why, the how and and the what went wrong? So, yeah. I decided it’s a must read.

As I get to know the young Evelyn I was caught off guard at how fierce she was even at a young age. She chose to do what she chose to do. No buts. No apologies. After telling the story of her first husband I knew this book is intense. But what I did not expect is that once Evelyn tells her side of the story there will be no turning back. It’s impossible to not feel anything about any situations she’s in. Evelyn is like a real person you’ll hope to succeed and not be hurt. She is someone I would admire and then I would end up be lost into. She is charismatic and sexy. Damage yet whole.

What I love about this book is how it makes everything seemed real that I could almost forget that this is just a mere work of fiction. But the image of Marilyn Monroe is strong and clear in my head along with the song I’ve Never Been To Me by Charlene. I swear I played that song over and over again after reading this book. And while I kept hearing the song and thinking of Evelyn Hugo, I thought that that is simply the point of the story. To not see fame as the goal. To give importance to family and friendships. To not regret anything you do in the past no matter how shitty it is. And yet, this book offers more.

It made me cry hard then harder towards the end. It made me understand the struggles of those people who needs to hide their true self. It made me question the kind of life I’ll have in the future. It gives clear messages that is already written in the pages. But for me, what I would like to remember from reading The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is that relationships are not what they seemed. Sometimes what we give isn’t what we actually get in return. When we confess that we love someone and that person that we love felt the same way it doesn’t really mean you’re both willing to do the same things for the sake of your relationship. But is it worth it despite the pain and disappointments? Yes, it is.

I am rating this book 5 stars. It left me speechless.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Quoted from the Book:

Never let anyone make you feel ordinary.

It’s always been fascinating to me how things can be simultaneously true and false, how people can be good and bad all in one, how someone can love you in a way that is beautifully selfless while serving themselves ruthlessly.

You do not know how fast you have been running, how hard you have been working, how truly exhausted you are, until somewhat stands behind you and says, “It’s OK, you can fall down now. I’ll catch you.”

Heartbreak is a loss. Divorce is a piece of paper.


Title: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Author: Taylor Jenkins Reid
Pages: 392 (A Reading Group Guide Included)
Bookstore: Fullybooked
Date: September 3, 2020
Number: 41 for 2020

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.