Circe by Madeline Miller (Book Review)

Circe is the kind of book you’ll see on almost every bookstagram account. It was the book I chose to ignore because I had enough with Greek myths. Or so I thought. But then, as you know (or as I hope you’ll also experience), a book can sometimes lead you to another book.

After reading Waiting for Odysseus by Clemence McLaren I fell in love with the retelling of Greek mythology all over again. It is through Waiting for Odysseus that made me know Odysseus, his wife Penelope and the very mysterious Circe. Since then, I was intrigued with Circe and decided I’ll try to get to know her through Madeline Miller. And it was worth the try. I am happy to discover that Waiting for Odysseus and Circe somehow linked the timeline for me, that again, just like my experience with Immortal and Painting Mona Lisa, the two books felt like it was a collaborated work from two talented authors. It can’t be help that I also thought of these books because of the same feel and point of the story.

Circe is considered as a goddess but her rank is not among the Olympians. She is actually from the Titan family and among the daughters of Helios. She had a lot of siblings but in this book only three were introduced along with their mother whom soon be called the Mother of Witches. Circe and her siblings powers were considered as witchcraft. It was unnatural for the gods and so Zeus banished her in an island. It is there that she meets Hermes, some mortals that she turned into pigs when they abuse her hospitality, Odysseus and later on Penelope and her son Telemachus. Expect a lot of scenes since the timeline stretches from the time she was born until she gave birth to her own child. And yes, Circe is immortal, so everything happened not just during a few decades. But don’t worry it’s fast-paced.

The scenes, the lines, the realizations and the journey in this book is simply mind blowing. I knew Greek myths involve crazy themes like: murder, war, betrayal, revenge, incest, same sex relationships, casual sex, rape and sudden pregnancy. And I really meant sudden, even the goddesses’ way of giving birth is shockingly amazing. Having said that, let me just give you a fair warning before diving into my thoughts why I love this book so much.

Greek mythology books are common. It’s either a retelling or a straight facts kind of book (the research material kind). It’s not for everyone simply because of the themes I mentioned and because the way the events were told seemed like a fairy tale or a dream scene. But if you’re fine with that then maybe you’ll also appreciate the quick transitioning in Greek mythology. Remember, you’re following the point of view of a god or a goddess or a nymph or a witch. Basically, time for them is not the same as we perceive it. Which is why it’s almost forgivable that they act and react not base on our morals and values. They knew only their law and wrath and hierarchy when it comes to power and glory. Lastly, it’s narrative is way too different from a Fantasy novel. I’d say it’s close to Historical Fiction. Now that I had that out of the way let’s return to why I love Circe (both the book and the character).

Circe is the kind of book you should read during Women’s Month. It’s a mix of girl power, how powerful women fight each other and how an innocent daughter transforms into an independent witch. I also appreciate the writer’s effort for writing the scenes beautifully even the tragic ones. Rape and sex and love making were not the words use when it happens. Read it so you’ll find out how creative Madeline Miller’s words are. Some people claim that some books are just so easy to read that you cannot simply put it down. That happened to me while reading Circe. It was as smooth as butter that I am now hoping she will write more retelling of Greek mythology like Pandora and Medusa.

In the end, what I get is that painful reminder that we are mortals and we should be glad about it. I knew other readers didn’t love this book, probably because of the scenes and the themes. That is understandable. I can still remember our confusion during high school when we first read a Greek myth story while in class. No one would admit it but majority of the class couldn’t understand the scene (except for two I think). No one dared to ask each other why would a god mingle and talk to humans. It’s funny to recall how most of us struggle. Our English teacher caught us and rolled her eyes on us. Then, as we laughed, she chose some students to read per paragraph and explain each to us as if we were toddlers.

Anyway, let’s stop the memory lane. I am rating this book 5 stars and I hope to read more from this author.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Quoted from the Book:

“When I was born, the word for what I was did not exist.”

“It is a common saying that women are delicate creatures, flowers, eggs, anything that may be crushed in a moment’s carelessness. If I had ever believed it, I no longer did.”

“I thought: I cannot bear this world a moment longer. Then, child, make another.”

“Only that: we are here. This is what it means to swim in the tide, to walk the earth and feel it touch your feet. This is what it means to be alive.”


Title: Circe
Author: Madeline Miller
Pages: 416 (Cast of Characters Included)
Bookstore: Online Seller (FB)
Date: August 26, 2020
Number: 40 for 2020

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.