The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas (Book Review)

When something becomes viral it’s hard to just ignore it. The hashtag Black Lives Matter did get my attention last month and it lead me to several news articles, black square posts and to this book entitled The Hate U Give. Not only did I read good reviews about it, it also often appears on my feeds because of what has been happening recently. I rarely read a popular or highly recommended book. But this time, because I wanted to educate myself and to trust what other people are saying, I gave in.

Racism is among the ancient problems we have that is hard to deal with. Everyone may become a racist, even without us meaning to, just because of the impressions that we believe in and due to the lack of information that we know. But what happened in The Hate U Give is not just about racism. Actually, despite knowing that this book earns a lot of praises, I still did not know what to expect out of it. By the first chapter I was just calm, then shock by the next, then scared by the third and crying by the fourth chapter.

It’s about a type of murder case that’s been happening over and over again. It’s about how black people orients their children about talking to police officers if, and only if, they were caught or being interrogated. It’s the kind of talk parents give to their children because it has been happening for so long that being cautious around cops should be part of their skills. Coincidentally, that “talk” scene is somewhat relatable for me. Years ago, when I was in college my father used to tell me that during their time police officers were being respected by everyone in the community. But these days, police officers are seen as dangerous people and that, if possible, everyone should just avoid them. I’m residing in the Philippines, by the way, and that statement made by my father is not based on racism experience. He was simply comparing the lives of the Filipino people then and now.

As I read this book, I thought, I hope this is not going to give an impression that it’s about the black people versus the white people. Thankfully, it’s not. And it’s not preachy either. It’s a reminder for everyone that no one is asking for a special treatment. The book is about friendship, family, relationship, doing the right things, being brave, and most of all finding that right voice we can use to be heard. It is also a young adult book that made me see what the characters are going through. Somehow we are just the same. And somehow we are also different. It was hard to remain silent while so many things are going on. Yet it’s harder to speak out not knowing if what you’re saying will be heard or even believed in by other people.

Starr is the sixteen year old heroine that is easy to love because she is interesting. She is cool and nice. And I now want to buy a pair of Jordan shoes because of her. With that thought I realize, I was a fan of Michael Jordan even if I was just a child then during his time. I don’t even understand the game. All I remember is I’m seeing him often on television and newspaper. And the most memorable video clip for me was seeing him and Michael Jackson together. I also wanted to watch The Fresh Prince of Bel-air after this. Anyway, I digress.

Starr’s family is the most lovable family I have read so far. It was like reading a sitcom. There’s the heavy parts and the parts where I’ll just laugh out loud because of their “family drama.” And then there’s Chris, the white boyfriend of Starr, who is so cute and smart and innocent enough that he just do what he does not knowing he is making people like him (or accept him).

Overall, I love this book because of its authenticity. Angie Thomas did a great job on her debut novel. I am glad that I tried reading her work because it gives me an insight I might never find in other books or resources. I would gladly recommend this to all, especially to those who, like me, are often intimidated to read other books, especially if it’s written by an author they haven’t tried before. Having said that, I think from time to time, I will now keep on reading books with high ratings. And that, if my budget allows me to do so, I should keep on trying various authors again and not limit myself with the ones that I know.

I am rating this 5 stars and I hope everyone can get the opportunity to read this book.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Quoted from the Book:

Sometimes you can do everything right and things will still go wrong. The key is to never stop doing right.

Brave doesn’t mean you’re not scared. It means you go on even though you’re scared.

That’s the problem. We let people say stuff, and they say it so much that it becomes okay to them and normal for us. What’s the point of having a voice if you’re gonna be silent in those moments you shouldn’t be?


Title: The Hate U Give
Author: Angie Thomas
Pages: 473
Bookstore: National Bookstore
Date: July 13, 2020
Number: 36 for 2020

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.